Skip to main content

Bones To Ashes by Kathy Reichs

I've been a longtime reader and fan of Kathy Reichs' Temperance Brennan series, and so I'm now submitting a review of the latest installment for the series called Bones To Ashes, which was released a couple months ago. For those of you who are unfamiliar with the series, it follows a forensic anthropologist named Temperance Brennan. She splits her time between North Carolina where she teaches on the faculty of the state university and consults with medical examiners when they need a forensic anthropologist and Montreal, Quebec, Canada where she is on the staff of the province's medical-legal lab (she works for the office of the medical examiner). A forensic anthropologist works on murder cases in which there isn't much left of the victim... for example, if all that's left is bones or the victim was burned beyond recognition, Brennan is called in to examine the bones to determine cause of death and in some cases to determine identity as well.

In Bones To Ashes a series of cases involving missing girls in Montreal seems to connect to an event in Brennan's childhood in which her girlhood friend suddenly disappears one summer. The book also introduces a sad development in the tenuous romance Brennan has been enjoying with a colleage, Detective Ryan. Ultimately it is not resolved by the final page of the book, and so I look forward to the next book in the series mostly to see what happens between these two.

This book is a fairly quick read and a definite must read for Brennan series fans. Fans of Patricia Cornwell's Scarpetta series and Tess Gerritsen's Isles/Rizzoli series will also enjoy this series, specifically for the unique perspective of a forensic anthropologist narrator as oppossed to a medical examiner narrator (Scarpetta) or medical examiner/police detective main characters (Isles/Rizzoli).

If you're new to the Brennan series, I recommend starting at the beginning with Deja Dead; this is followed by (in order), Death Du Jour, Deadly Decisions, Fatal Voyage, Grave Secrets, Bare Bones, Monday Mourning, Cross Bones, Break No Bones, and, the most recent installment, Bones To Ashes. You can visit Kathy Reichs' website, http://www.kathyreichs.com/, to learn more about the author, the series, or the field of forensic anthropology.

On another note, fans of the Brennan series who are also TV watchers will enjoy the series Bones that airs on the Fox channel locally on Tuesday nights. It is loosely based on the Brennan series and Reichs serves as a consulting producer for the show. If you enjoy watching crime procedurals with witty writing, you will enjoy the show. I highly recommend you tune in sometime.

Bones To Ashes is located upstairs in adult fiction at Fic/Rei; it is currently shelved in the New Arrivals section. It is also available upon request from Annville Free Library, Lebanon Community Library, Myerstown Community Library, and Palmyra Public Library. All the books in the Brennan series are available in county either here at the Matthews Library or upon request from Annville, Lebanon, Myerstown and Palmyra.

--Reviewed by Ms. Angie

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Broken by Karin Slaughter

Before I begin the formal review there are a few things I need to get off my chest in the wake of finishing this book; I'll do so without giving away too many (or any) spoilers.
The OUTRAGE!: the identity of Detective Lena Adams' new beau; the low depths to which Grant County's interim chief has sunk and brought the police force down with him; agent Will Trent's wife, Angie's, sixth sense/nasty habit of reappearing in his life just when he's slipping away from her. Thank God for small miracles though because while Angie was certainly referred to during the book, the broad didn't make an appearance. One sign that I've become way too invested in these characters is that I'd like to employ John Connolly's odd pair of assassins, Louis and Angel, to contract out a hit on Angie; do you think Karin Slaughter and John Connolly could work out a special cross over?
Hallelujah: Dr. Sara Linton and agent Will Trent are both back. There is no hallelujah for…

Crow Lake by Mary Lawson

When the end came, it seemed to do so completely out of the blue, and it wasn't until long afterward that I was able to see that there was a chain of events leading up to it. Some of those events had nothing to do with us, the Morrisons, but were solely the concern of the Pyes, who lived on a farm about a mile away and were our nearest neighbors." from page seven
I must confess that it took me longer than it really needed to in order to finish the novel Crow Lake by Mary Lawson. The entire story is building up to the big catastrophe that forever destroys all the hopes and dreams the Morrison clan ever dared to hope and dream for its future. In the eyes of the narrator, it is even worse than the tragedy of the car crash that claimed both parents' lives one evening on the heels of some good news the family has received and celebrated. Now you can see why I dreaded getting to the end of a book that drips in foreboding like nobody's business. What can be a worse tra…

In The Woods by Tana French

"What I warn you to remember is that I am a detective. Our relationship with the truth is fundamental, but cracked, refracting confusingly like fragmented glass. It is the core of our careers, the endgame of every move we make, and we pursue it with strategies painstakingly constructed of lies ... and every variation on deception. The truth is the most desirable woman in the world and we are the most jealous lovers, reflexively denying anyone else the slightest glimpse of her. We betray her routinely ... This is my job ... What I am telling you, before you begin my story, is this--two things: I crave truth. And I lie." opening lines of In The Woods chapter 1, pages 3-4
In The Woods by Tana French, an Irish writer, is an extremely well-written and well-crafted mystery novel. The downside is that this is French's debut novel, and her website (located at http://www.tanafrench.com/) does not offer any insi…